Advice for the process of deconverting from fundamentalism

An ex-fundie atheist made a comment about deprogramming themselves from indoctrination and on how helpful atheist community could be, and this got me to speak up:

Atheists often don’t congregate as such, because the feature of atheism is one of release to the rest of life, as I see it. Dan Barker on a related stream of thought made a point I like:

“Truth does not demand belief. Scientists do not join hands every Sunday, singing, yes, gravity is real! I will have faith! I will be strong! I believe in my heart that what goes up, up, up must come down, down, down. Amen! If they did, we would think they were pretty insecure about it.”

I very much sympathize with you and your description of deprogramming yourself from the indoctrination. It isn’t easy! Please allow me to try to provide you with a little ex-fundie atheist supportive community in the remainder of this paragraph. Just keep asking yourself questions. Catch the jargon you heard as a kid and break it down. Treat a knee-jerk response as an opportunity to do something new. Read the rhetoric of fundamentalists from other religions and the discourse of freethinkers – both of these things will sensitize you to the manipulations of zealotry and allow you to break free. Clear yourself of judgement and interpretations and try to experience things as is. Above all, feel free to be yourself! Few people need a doctrinal yoke to be kind, decent people. Sin, let alone original sin, is a term you can now trim to size. Guilt can fade now. You are free.

Truth is, I myself feel better for having written that, for articulating the single most positive, liberating thought process of my life.

Leave a comment

Filed under Mysticism and Religion

Leave a Reply

